Brock to honour community international and higher education leaders with degrees

Satish Tripathi, President of the University at Buffalo, is a history-making leader of higher education who has helped create a new era of successful collaboration between Canadian and American researchers and students.He’s an internationally distinguished researcher and transformative higher education leader who holds the distinction of being the first international-born president in the history of UB.Tripathi served as dean of the Bourns College of Engineering at the University of California-Riverside from 1997-2004 and the 19 years prior to that as a professor of computer science at the University of Maryland, including seven years as department chair. He has also held visiting professorships at the University of Paris-Sud in France and the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg in Germany.Tripathi served as UB’s provost and executive vice president for academic affairs from 2004 to 2011 before being named the university’s 15th president in April, 2011. During his tenure, he was one of the principal creators of the UB 2020 strategic plan to achieve academic excellence, and has led the university to achieve significant growth in research and scholarly activity, enhanced student quality and diversity, and an expanded international presence. Izzeldin Abuelaish is a Palestinian surgeon who has devoted much of his life to running free clinics in Gaza, and who went on to become a strong advocate for peace even after his own children were killed when shells destroyed their home.He is a four-time Nobel Peace Prize nominee who launched the Daughters for Life Foundation after his children were killed and is one of the most outspoken, prominent and beloved researchers and public speakers on peace and development in the Middle East.Having been described as the Martin Luther King, the Mahatma Gandhi and the Nelson Mandela of the Middle East, Abuelaish’s extensive list of awards and honors include 11 honorary doctorate degrees from Canadian and American universities, the Order Of Ontario, the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, Mahatma Gandhi Peace Award, Archon Award, Search for Common Ground award and many others. Brock University will be conferring honorary doctorate degrees on three remarkable individuals who have each helped change the world on local, national or international levels, at Spring Convocation events next week.Liz Palmieri, who recently retired as Executive Director of the Niagara Community Foundation, is a community leader who had dedicated her life’s work to the not-for-profit sector. Under her leadership, the Foundation raised more than $28 million in endowment funds and granted more than $8 million to charities working in the arts, heritage, environment, social services, health, education, recreation and community development sectors.Since the early 1980s, Palmieri has worked or volunteered with organizations such as the Rotary Club, Ontario Trillium Foundation, Niagara Artists’ Centre, Carousel Players, Chorus Niagara, Niagara College Foundation and the YWCA job that started it all.She also played a key role in the founding of Niagara Connects, an important social agency launched with the support of the Niagara Community Foundation. Through Niagara Connects, Palmieri helped complete the Living in Niagara report, which has proven to be an invaluable information tool for many Niagara organizations.“I think it just fit with my values,” Palmieri said of her service-oriented work. “Those values run deep in my family.” Spring Convocation will be held Tuesday, June 7 to Friday, June 10 with eight ceremonies taking place over four days in the Ian D. Beddis Gymnasium at Brock University’s Walker Complex.Ceremonies are open to the public and tickets are not required. A reception for graduates, family and guests will follow each ceremony.2016 Spring Convocation Schedule:Tuesday, June 7, 10 a.m.Faculty of Social ScienceHonorary Degree to be awarded to Liz PalmieriTuesday, June 7, 2:30 p.m.Faculty of Social ScienceHonorary Degree to be awarded to Dr. Izzeldin AbuelaishWednesday, June 8, 10 a.m.Faculty of Humanities; Faculty of Math and ScienceHonorary Degree to be awarded to Dr. Satish TripathiWednesday, June 8, 2:30 p.m.Faculty of EducationThursday, June 9, 10 a.m.Goodman School of BusinessThursday, June 9, 2:30 p.m.Goodman School of BusinessFriday, June 10, 10 a.m.Faculty of Applied Health ScienceFriday, June 10, 2:30 p.m.Faculty of Applied Health Science read more