Integrity Commission calls for declaration submissions before September

first_imgIntegrity Commission has called for public officials to make their submission of declarations early, given that the entity had called out over 700 officials, including President David Granger, who failed to make their declarations during the first half of the year.Integrity Commission’s headquarters at Fifth Avenue and Church Road, Subryanville, GeorgetownIn a notice published in the daily newspapers, the commission informed that Public Officials have until August 31, 2019 to make their submissions in compliance with the Integrity Commission Act.The notice stated, “All specified Public Officers are kindly asked to take note that Declarations of their Assets and Liabilities include those for themselves, spouse and children. You are also reminded to attach their supporting documents to their declaration forms”.According to the Commission, these may include a copy of income statement (s) from employer (s) for the declaration period which may comprise of salary statements, pay slips, employment contract (s) and other documents. Copy of rental agreement (s), copy of transport (s), Certificate of Title (s)/ Lease (s) will also be necessary.Back in May, the Commission had flagged some 716 public officials for failing to make their declarations having breached the stipulated deadline of May 20, 2019.In addition to the President, reports also surfaced that some Cabinet members were also lagging behind with regards to their submissions. But President Granger assured that there is a commitment by all Cabinet members to comply. As of now, he displayed concerns over this matter but could not account for the tardiness on the part of these Ministers.Among the defaulters on the list of 716 were General Manager of the Demerara Harbour Bridge Corporation, Rawlston Adams; Chief Executive Officer of the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC), George Lewis; Director General of Guyana Civil Aviation Authority, Egbert Field; CEO of the Guyana Lands and Surveys Commission, Trevor Benn; Chairman of the Guyana National Broadcasting Authority, Leslie Sobers; General Manager of the Guyana National Newspapers Limited, Sherod Duncan; CEO of the Guyana Office for Investment, Owen Verwey; and CEO of Guyana Power and Light, Albert Gordon among others.A breakdown of the list includes officials from the Cheddi Jagan International Airport; the Cyril Potter College of Education; the Bureau of Statistics; the Dependent Pension Fund; the Environmental Protection Agency; the GPHC; the Guyana Gold Board; the Guyana Oil Company; and the Guyana Power and Light Inc, among others.Under the law, any public officer who fails to comply with the Commission is liable upon summary conviction, to a fine of $25,000 and imprisonment for a period of not less than six months or more than one year.last_img read more