Bassa Heads Superintendents’ Council

first_imgThe Superintendent of Grand Bassa County, Madam Etweda Cooper, has been elected and inducted as the chairperson of the Superintendents Council of Liberia.   Superintendent Cooper takes over from former Sinoe County Superintendent, J. Milton Teahjay, whose election to the Senate, about two months ago, created the vacancy.With the aim of restructuring the council, the 15 Counties’ Superintendents, along with their lieutenants held a retreat in Buchanan on January 30 and 31, during which the new leadership was elected. The restructured Superintendents’ Council brings aboard all county assistant superintendents as full members.The Council seeks the welfare of its collective constituents and provides a medium to share experiences to enhance not only individual performance but national development goals.The new leadership was inducted by President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf on Wednesday February 18, in the Gbarnga City Hall, in Bong County.  The occasion coincided with the launching of the National De-concentration Platform (NDP).President Sirleaf told the Superintendents that their induction did not guarantee that they could not be changed if the need arises.She told them that maintaining their positions will depend on their ability to carry out well their jobs, to maintain the policies and procedures and ensure that the government achieves its development objectives.As government begins the full decentralization process, Superintendents’ responsibilities will increase considerably and they must be up to the task with a high level of integrity.President Sirleaf demanded integrity in managing public resources that would be allocated for specific purposes.  “We require all Superintendents to manage these resources with efficiency, honesty and a deep sense of responsibility,” she told the Superintendents.The President urged them to exercise commitment to government’s development agenda and loyalty to the country in everything they do.She also appealed to them to build strong relationships with the various traditional leaders, development partners and other stakeholders in the communities and share knowledge of activities in their counties.“We expect that they will work with traditional leaders and with all of those in the society that share in the responsibility of maintaining peace and development; that they will show respect for and work with authorities in the Legislature and the Executive, with whom they have to work and take guidance from them in carrying out their functions effectively,” she stressed.In her induction remarks, Superintendent Cooper said the Council would continue the vision of the President’s development programs in order to leave behind a responsible legacy.Superintendent Cooper said it was a challenge for her to assume the helm of the organization at the time that the reform process of national development is taking a new trend.“The de-concentration platform will require that enormous financial and other logistical support be available to local officials to drive the process into an irreversible course,” she said.  Superintendent Cooper further noted, “We will need the support of the Executive and the Legislative as well as the development partners in this process.”She urged Ministries, Agencies and Corporations (MAC) to see the de-concentration as an historic opportunity for better service delivery to the people of Liberia.The Grand Bassa Superintendent meanwhile pleaded with all stakeholders not to ignite rivalry for power and control between leaders of MAC on one hand, and superintendents on the other.Those inducted also included the Superintendent of Lofa County, Mr. George Dunor, vice chair for administration; and the Assistant Superintendent for Development of Grand Cape Mount County, Mrs. Tenneh Kpadebah, vice chair for Operations.Others are the Assistant Superintendent for Development, Bomi County, Mr. Ernest Gray Davis, secretary-general; Assistant Superintendent for Development, Nimba County, Mrs. Dorr Cooper, financial secretary; Superintendent of Bong County, Ms Selina Polson Mappy, treasurer; Superintendent of Montserrado County, Mrs. Florence Brandy, chaplain; and Superintendent of Sinoe County, Thomas Romeo Quiah, advisor.Share this:Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)last_img read more

Advantage Buganda after first leg victory over West Nile in Drum

first_img Tags: BugandaFufa Drum 2018West Nile Buganda team that started against West Nile on Sunday (Photo by FUFA media)FUFA Drum 2018 – FinalBuganda 1-0 West NileBishops SS, MukonoSunday, 30-09-2018Buganda Province took an early advantage after winning the first leg of the FUFA Drum tournament against West Nile Province at Bishops SS Mukono.A late goal by Onduparaka’s winger Viane Ssekajugo gave Buganda the advantage ahead of the return leg on Saturday in Arua.Buganda’s head coach, Alex Isabirye was happy because they won at home and believes he’s team can win the tournament.“My boys will win this tournament. I believe I have the best team and have prepared them well.” Isabirye said.Meanwhile, former KCCA FC forward Brian Umony is convinced that his team can bounce back and win the FUFA Drum tournament because the boys are talented players. Umony played for 52 minutes in yesterday’s game.“It is a final and finals are always tough. We played our hearts out but ended up conceding late in the game. We shall go back and work on our mistakes. It is not over yet.” Umony said.The head coach for West Nile, Abdallah Omar also believes his team can overturn the result at home so as to win the tournament regardless of their first leg loss.“I congratulate my boys for a spirited fight despite conceding late into the game. I believe we are just halfway the final. We shall go back and try to rectify our mistakes especially in the midfield where we struggled.” Omar said.The return leg is slated for Saturday, October 6 at Green Light stadium in Arua district.Buganda Province Team:Goalkeepers: Nicholas Sebwato (Onduparaka FC), Hannington Ssebwalunyo (BUL FC)Other players: Vianne Sekajugo (Onduparaka), Muhammad Hassan (Onduparaka), Patrick Henry Kaddu (KCCA FC), Ronald Kigongo (URA FC), Kagimu Shafik (URA FC), Abudallah Nyanzi (URA FC), Joel Mutakubwa (Tooro United FC), Allan Kayiwa (Tooro United FC), Baker Buyala (Tooro United FC), Derrick Muyanja (Kyetume FC), Musa Magulu (Kyetume FC),  Brian Majwega (Maroons FC), Walusimbi Solomon (Maroons FC), Jooga Rajab (Seeta United FC), Enock Walusimbi (Bright Stars FC), Dan Birikwalira (Bright Stars FC), and Savio Kabugo (SC Villa)West Nile Province Team:Goalkeepers: Nafian Ajaib (URA), Richard Anyama (Onduparaka FC)Other players: Geriga Atendele Geriga (Koboko Rising Stars), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA FC), Toha Rashid Freedom (Onduparaka FC), Sabir Nesta Rajab (Kirinya JSS FC), Filbert Obenchan (KCCA FC), Richard Ayiko (Onduparaka FC), Rashid Okocha (Onduparaka FC), Ronald Orombi (Maroons FC), Moses Ali Feni (Wakiso Giants), Vitalis Tabu (URA), Rashid Agau (Maroons FC), Abel Eturude (Onduparaka FC) , Faizal, Oromcan Villa (BUL FC), Amaku Fred (Kirinya JSSS FC)), Omwony Brian (Free Agent), Rwothomiu Cromwel (Paidha Black Angles), Hassan Fatib (Sevilla B), Chika Sydney (Maroons FC), and Bida Ezra (Onduparaka FCComments last_img read more